Hampshire Athletics Cross-Country Championships 2019

The Championships had nearly 900 runners across different age groups. The course this year took in very large grass field, twisting woodland trails and a rough old campsite – all in the grounds of Fairthorne Manor, Botley. IWAC were really proud of four top 10 finishers including 2019 U17 Champion Henry McLuckie.

The event started with Under 11’s and for the Isle of Wight Athletic Club (IWAC) Archie Pearson was near the front for the whole 2km race to claim a really great 5th overall. Under 15’s saw some close racing through the woodland sections of the 4.1km route, Campbell Laird staying with the two leaders until the final 400m, but he had done enough for the bronze medal. In the girls race on the same course a strong chasing pack couldn’t catch the two breakaway leaders, but Mabel Lewis worked hard to stay in this group and finished 9th. In the Under 17 Men’s race Henry McLuckie, current English Schools Champion, left the other athletes in his wake (including the U20’s who started at the same time). The winning margin was the largest of the day and it was a great marker for races later in the season. In the Senior Men’s race Sam Metcalf was really strong for 15th in a field of over 180, and in the same race Steve Haggerty just missed a medal finishing 4th in his age category (74th overall).

IWAC had some other great results on Saturday, notably U17’s Millie Bacon (11th) & Niall Powell (14th), U13 Maisey Kent (13th) & U15 Naomi Holdsworth (19th).


Other IWAC finishers include:

U11G: Freya Taylor (25th) Maisey Gibson (27), Evie Longson (30), Amelia Groves (33), Savannah Smith (44), Abigail Fancourt (48).

U11B James Heng (26th), Finn McMahon (29), Oliver Flood (66), Bertie Adkins (72), Harrison Lane (93) and Stanley Rumsey (100)

U13G Lily Barclay (28th), Evie Taylor (47), Mia Stillwell (53), Charlotte Fancourt (59) & Bella Matthias (69)

U13B Joseph Roberts (24th), Arthur Atrill (32), Finley Lax (52) & Jackson Hill (68)

U15 Jessica Heng (28th), Noah Patey (40), Jacob Patey (42), Jay Spooner (50)

U17 Dylan Holdsworth (24th)